Lightlife’s Smart Dogs

I have tested a few brands of Veggie Hot Dogs over the years. These Smart Dogs by Lightlife stack up well against the other contenders in that class – which is where they belong– if you ask me.

They look like a hot dog, smell somewhat like one, but they do not cook up the same. On my low-fat kitchen counter grill, Smart Dogs bubble up oddly.

Honestly, this product will not likely wow meat eater or most kids. These, taste-wise, just do not have the flavor of a regular all-beef hot dog. The Smart Dogs are a bit more reminiscent of a turkey dog, perhaps. Adding the usual condiments to these and placing them in buns did nothing to make it seem more like the typical Frankfurter. In fact, the addition was a detraction in my opinion.

When I stopped trying to make them taste like all-beef hot dogs, then I enjoyed them much more. I made a suitable marinade for them consisting mainly of blended veggies. They were better when I thought of them as another entity entirely. I highly recommend a bit of experimentation. It was fun exercising a bit of creativity, too.

Bottom line, I would have given these Smart Dogs a 5 or 6 rating as a knockoff hotdog. As a healthier, lighter, non-meat product, I give it an 8 or 9. Maybe you have a family reunion or other event going on soon. Do not be afraid to offer these to Vegans, Vegetarians, or the health-conscious, etc.

These Lightlife Smart Dogs are good sources of protein, vegan-certified, and non-GMO. I love that these have healthier ingredients than do the castoffs of the meat-packing industry! I rarely eat hot dogs for concern for quality and safety. #AD #GotItFree #Healthier #Lightlife #SmartDogs #SocialNature

 

Leave a Reply

